Gates, Mullen, Simpson, Bowles, Bell, Bixby, Rivlin & Domenici on Nat Sec & U.S. Debt

Part of Strengthening of America—Our Children's Future
  • Monday, Sep 17, 2012
  • Former Senators Sam Nunn (D-GA), Pete Domenici (R-NM), Warren Rudman (R-NH), and Evan Bayh (D-IN) invite you to join them and other former Members of Congress to the second of four forums on America’s fiscal challenge.


    National Security Implications of America’s Debt


    Robert Gates
    Former U.S. Secretary of Defense (via Satellite)

    Michael Mullen
    Former Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff

    The Bipartisan Plans to Address the Situation


    Erskine Bowles
    Former White House Chief of Staff; Co-chair, National Commission on Fiscal Responsibility and Reform (via Satellite)

    Pete Domenici
    Former U.S. Senator (R-NM); Senior Fellow and Co-Chair, Bipartisan Policy Center's Debt Reduction Task Force

    Alan Simpson
    Former U.S. Senator (R-WY); Co-chair, National Commission on Fiscal Responsibility and Reform (via Satellite)

    Alice Rivlin
    Former Director of the White House
    Office of Management and Budget; Co-chair, Bipartisan Policy Center's Debt Reduction Task Force

    CSIS, B1 Conference Center, 1800 K Street, NW, Washington, D.C.

    Seating is limited. RSVP is required. Please click here to RSVP.

    Note: You must log on to your CSIS account to register.  If you do not have an account with CSIS you will need to create one.  If you have any difficulties, please contact

    Follow @USAstronger for live updates #FiscalCrisis

    Strengthening of America—Our Children’s Future is an initiative of The Concord Coalition,
    The Bipartisan Policy Center, the Center for Strategic and International Studies (CSIS),
    the American Business Conference, the James A. Baker III Institute for Public Policy at Rice University, the Hoover Institution at Stanford University, and the Belfer Center for Science and International Affairs at Harvard University.

    The Steering Committee for Strengthening of America currently includes the following former members of Congress:

    Howard Baker (R-TN), Bob Bennett (R-UT), David Boren (D-OK), Bill Brock (R-TN), Richard Bryan (D-NV), Mike Castle (R-DE), Jack Danforth (R-MO), Tom Davis (R-VA), Byron Dorgan (D-ND), Mickey Edwards (R-OK), Daniel Evans (R-WA), Bill Frenzel (R-MN), Dan Glickman (D-KS), Slade Gorton (R-WA), Bob Graham (D-FL), William Gray (D-PA), Judd Gregg (R-NH), Chuck Hagel (R-NE), Jane Harman (D-CA), J. Bennett Johnston (D-LA), Nancy Kassebaum (R-KS), David McCurdy (D-OK), Jim Nussle (R-IA), Tim Penny (D-MN), Chuck Robb (D-VA), Tim Roemer (D-IN), Alan Simpson (R-WY), Charlie Stenholm (D-TX), John Tanner (D-TN), Tom Tauke (R-IA), and Tim Wirth (D-CO).


Find More On:

Defense and Security

Global Trends and Forecasting