Pacific Forum Board of Governors

Governors at the 2015 Annual Board of Governors' Meeting and 40th Anniversary Celebration

An international Board of Governors guides the Pacific Forum’s work.  The Board is co-chaired by Richard Armitage,  President, Armitage International and former US Deputy Secretary of State and Dr. Joseph S. Nye, Jr., former Assistant Secretary of Defense for International Security Affairs. The board includes 37 leaders from Hawaii, the US mainland, and the larger Asia-Pacific region.


Richard Armitage, President, Armitage International; former US Deputy Secretary of State (Washington, DC)

Joseph S. Nye, Jr., Distinguished Service Professor, John F. Kennedy School of Government; former Assistant Secretary of Defense for International Security Affairs (Boston)  


Ralph A. Cossa, Pacific Forum CSIS, President (Honolulu)

Vice Chairmen

Thomas B. Hayward, Admiral USN (Ret.) President, Hayward Associates, Inc.; former Chief of Naval Operations and member of the Joint Chiefs of Staff (Seattle)  

L. R. Vasey, Rear Admiral USN (Ret.) Founder and Senior Advisor for Policy, Pacific Forum CSIS; former Chief of Strategic Plans and Policies for US Pacific Command and Secretary to the Joint Chiefs of Staff (Honolulu) 

Chairman Emeritus

Brent Scowcroft, Lt. Gen., USAF (Ret.) President, The Forum for International Policy; former Assistant to the President, National Security Affairs. (Washington, DC) 


James F. Armington, Vice President - East Asia and Pacific, International Business Development, Boeing Defense, Space, & Security (Arlington)

Mary G. F. Bitterman, President, The Bernard Osher Foundation; former President, James Irvine Foundation (Honolulu and San Francisco)

Choi Shin Won, Chairman and CEO, SKC. Co; former Vice Chairman and CEO, SK Distribution (Seoul)

Brenda Lei Foster, Executive-in-Residence, University of Hawaii Shidler College of Business; former President, American Chamber of Commerce, Shanghai (Honolulu)

Haruhisa Handa, Chairman, Worldwide Support for Development (Tokyo)

Ronald J. Hays, Admiral USN (Ret.) International Business Consultant; former Commander-in-Chief, US Pacific Command (Honolulu)

David A. Heenan, Trustee, Board of Trustees, The Estate of James Campbell (Honolulu)

Lee Howell, Managing Director, World Economic Forum (Geneva)

Hong-Choo Hyun, Attorney-at-Law, Kim & Chang; former ROK Ambassador to the US (Seoul)

Irene Hirano Inouye, President, US-Japan Council; Trustee, Ford Foundation (Washington, DC)

Raymond F. Johnson, Chairman Emeritus, Caltex Petroleum (Dallas)

Amos A. Jordan, Counselor and President Emeritus, Pacific Forum CSIS; former President, CSIS. (Bountiful, Utah)

James A. Kelly, Counselor, and President Emeritus, Pacific Forum CSIS; former Assistant Secretary of State for East Asian and Pacific Affairs (Honolulu)

Jin Hyun Kim, Senior Research Advisor, Korea International Trade Association; former ROK Minister of Science and Technology (Seoul)

Charles D. Lake II, President, Aflac International Inc.; Chairman, Representative in Japan, Aflac Japan (Tokyo)

Warren K. K. Luke, Chairman & CEO, Hawaii National Bank (Honolulu)

Yoshihiko Miyauchi, Chairman and CEO, ORIX Corporation (Tokyo)

Lauren Kahea Moriarty, Principal, Aloha Visions; former US Ambassador to Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC) (Honolulu)

Torkel Patterson, Principal, Group Pacific Inc.; former President, Raytheon Int’l.; former National Security Council Senior Director for Asian Affairs. (Washington, DC)

R.T. Peng, President, Taiwan Transportation Machinery Corp. (Taipei)

Rex C.A. Reyes, Chairman and CEO, Galaxy Group (Manila)

Jean E. Rolles, Vice President, Community Relations, Outrigger Enterprises, Inc.  (Honolulu)

Charles B. Salmon, Foreign Policy Advisor and Member, Asia-Pacific Center for Security Studies; former US Ambassador to Laos (Honolulu) 

James J. Shinn, Former Assistant Secretary of Defense for East Asia (Princeton, NJ)

H. Howard Stephenson, former Chairman, Executive Committee, Bank of Hawaii (Honolulu)

Barbara Tanabe, Partner, Ho’akea Communications (Honolulu)

Sarasin Viraphol, Executive Vice President, Charoen Pokphand Group; former Thai Ambassador to the Philippines; former Director-General, Thai Ministry of Foreign Affairs (Bangkok)

Jusuf Wanandi, Chairman, Supervisory Board, Centre for Strategic and International Studies (Jakarta)

Alfonso T. Yuchengco, Head, Yuchengco Group of Companies; former Philippine Ambassador to the UN, to Japan, and to China (Manila)

Ronald "Zap" Zlatoper, Admiral USN (Ret.) Trustee, Board of Trustees, The Estate of James Campbell (Honolulu)

Governors at the 2014 Annual Board of Governors' Dinner